Lord Of The Rings Chronology

Lord Of The Rings Chronology

The world or in JRR Tolkien’s words, the middle earth awaits for Prime Video’s release of The Rings Of Fire series. This is for the first time that a series is being made out of Tolkien’s work and not a movie.

The Rings Of Power is itself divided into 5 seasons with each seasons featuring multiple episodes. The first season of The Rings Of Power is scheduled to release on 2nd September 2022 on Amazon Prime Video.

If you are also the one confused and wondering as to what happened first? In middle earth, which events first took place in chronological order? Then you are at the right place. Irrespective of which movie/series you watch first, that is up to you. In this article, we will explain you events that took place right from the beginning in middle earth, taking the movies released and series about to be released as the base to explain.

Lord Of The Rings Timeline Explained

Let’s just deep dive and talk about the movies released and prospective series to be released to explain the timeline of middle earth events in a better way. Read on to know more as to which events happened first – Lord Of The Rings (LOTR), The Hobbit, or The Rings Of Power.

1. The Rings Of Power

The events that would happen in The Rings Of Power predates the entire LOTR and Hobbit timeline. The events are actually set years before the events described in The Hobbit. Also note the events from all the 5 seasons of The Rings Of Power would predate LOTR and The Hobbit.

2. The Hobbit

After thousands of years of The Rings Of Power, events in The Hobbit happen. Within The Hobbit, events showed in The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (2012) happen first followed by The Desolation of Smaug (2013) and then by The Battle of Five Armies (2014).

Also Read: The Weekend Away: Luke Norris aka Rob’s Instagram Handle

3. Lord Of The Rings

Although released first, but the events as described in the Lord Of The Rings actually come in place at last when The Rings Of Power and The Hobbit have already been happened. Within Lord Of The Rings, Fellowship of the Ring (2001) happens first, followed by The Two Towers (2002) and then by Return of the King (2003).

Quick Read: LOTR: The Rings Of Power – Series Or A Movie? Details Inside

Was this post helpful?

Leave a Reply